Jump to content



Photo

The 'VidOn Box' is coming in July 2014. Got any questions?

VidOn Box

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
388 replies to this topic

#361 Wolly Xu

Wolly Xu

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 1792 posts

  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4

Posted 18 September 2014 - 02:10 PM

 

Good news! I need 5 boxes, because 3 of my friends also want this box. They are very interested in it. :mb:

Sorry, because we only have 2000 units for the first batch, so there is a limitation that one VidOn.me Account can only buy 3 units at most.



#362 willynanita

willynanita

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4
  • iPhone:6
  • iOS on iPhone:9.3.2
  • iPad:3
  • iOS on iPad:9.3.2

Posted 18 September 2014 - 02:17 PM

Sorry, because we only have 2000 units for the first batch, so there is a limitation that one VidOn.me Account can only buy 3 units at most.

 

I thought it was one per account, I need 2.



#363 likethatbox

likethatbox

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • LocationNiedersachsen, Germany

Posted 18 September 2014 - 03:37 PM

Of course, we will provide the latest version of VidOn XBMC. 
I know what you mean, the latest version of official XBMC is XBMC 13.2(Kodi has not been released), but for now the most stable version is still XBMC 12.
But we will update VidOn XBMC to 13 in the future.

Unable to comply.

Gotham is a a matured product right now and stable as Hell.

The existing Allwinner Acc Prework is only available for Frodo since
the API has changed dramatically in 13...thats the truth behind it.

The Problem is that some Plugins STILL do not support 12 anymore.

#364 Skyliner

Skyliner

    Member

  • Junior Member
  • PipPip
  • 156 posts
  • LocationGermany

Posted 18 September 2014 - 04:58 PM

That's the sad truth behind it and should be clear as XBMC partner !


2.000 pieces for the first badge against nearly 19.000 reservations stated from your side so far!
How will you handle it - first come (first reservations) first serve??

#365 willynanita

willynanita

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4
  • iPhone:6
  • iOS on iPhone:9.3.2
  • iPad:3
  • iOS on iPad:9.3.2

Posted 18 September 2014 - 08:52 PM

Uhm, 18,950 reservations and only 2,000 devices.
This is going to be hard. Like an e-bay auction.


Maybe 1 device per person is a better option, unless the home page is mistaken and the reservations are really 1,950 or something.

#366 zhang

zhang

    Member

  • VidOn.me Staff
  • PipPip
  • 14 posts
  • LocationBeijing, China
  • Devices:VidOn Box, AV100, AV200
  • VidOn XBMC:v 0.0.0.4 Beta
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.6
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • iPhone:4s

Posted 19 September 2014 - 01:36 AM

Of course, we will provide the latest version of VidOn XBMC. 
I know what you mean, the latest version of official XBMC is XBMC 13.2(Kodi has not been released), but for now the most stable version is still XBMC 12.
But we will update VidOn XBMC to 13 in the future.


That's the truth we are behind the official's XBMC release :sad: , but we are working hard at it.
we will try to provide XBMC13(Gotham) stable version first and then we will provide Kodi 14(Helix) beta vesion. :cool:
 
Thanks.
  • Wolly Xu, Skyliner, cBc and 2 others like this

#367 Chevaz

Chevaz

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 September 2014 - 08:42 AM

Maybe someone don't want to or forget to buy it after they made the reservation. So the actual buyers will less than the number.

My timezone is UTC/GMT +8, so the purchase time are 16:00 and 1:00 in the next day. :smile:

 

What's your purchase time?



#368 willynanita

willynanita

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4
  • iPhone:6
  • iOS on iPhone:9.3.2
  • iPad:3
  • iOS on iPad:9.3.2

Posted 19 September 2014 - 11:12 AM

Mine is 12:00 but I will be trying long before that. I don't like this method, they are letting people take 3 boxes and with all those reservations...



#369 byalon

byalon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 19 September 2014 - 04:31 PM

Will I be able to install any xbmc version built for andriod? Will videon.me box run android os? Will I be able to run any android app from my google play? Thanks,Benny.

#370 Wolly Xu

Wolly Xu

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 1792 posts

  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4

Posted 20 September 2014 - 12:47 PM

Will I be able to install any xbmc version built for andriod? Will videon.me box run android os? Will I be able to run any android app from my google play? Thanks,Benny.

VidOn Box is running Android 4.4 on Allwinner A31s chipset. So you can run any android app on VidOn Box.


  • byalon likes this

#371 byalon

byalon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 21 September 2014 - 10:50 PM

What about 4K support on videon xbmc?



#372 Wolly Xu

Wolly Xu

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 1792 posts

  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4

Posted 22 September 2014 - 01:23 AM

VidOn Box does not support 4K, it supports 1080P hardware acceleration.

#373 Wolly Xu

Wolly Xu

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 1792 posts

  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4

Posted 24 September 2014 - 07:14 AM

We have tested Netflix on our VidOn Box, All video can be played.

 

Because China is not in the support list of Netflix, so we have to use VPN to test it, so the Internet speed is a little bit of slow.

 

We took some pictures to show you that our VidOn Box can run Netflix app.

 

Attached File  1.jpg   74.8KB   6 downloads

Attached File  2.jpg   93.25KB   4 downloads

Attached File  3.jpg   70.75KB   4 downloads

Attached File  4.jpg   101.57KB   3 downloads

 

But since the app was not designed for remote control, so you may need to use a mouse to control it.



#374 Skyliner

Skyliner

    Member

  • Junior Member
  • PipPip
  • 156 posts
  • LocationGermany

Posted 24 September 2014 - 07:22 AM

What about Amazon Instant Video App?



#375 Dillon

Dillon

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • LocationCentral District, Hong Kong

Posted 24 September 2014 - 08:15 AM

Sounds so good. :lovea: 

The most used app on my box is XBMC and Netflix. 



#376 Wolly Xu

Wolly Xu

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 1792 posts

  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4

Posted 25 September 2014 - 10:06 AM

 

A 55kg man (It's me) stand on the box, it is not damaged at all even with a hard step.

 

I shot this video with an app called Weishi, which is similar to the Vine, it allows you to shoot an 8 seconds video. Maybe I should use Vine. :smile:


  • James likes this

#377 SpookyL

SpookyL

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • LocationBangkok

Posted 25 September 2014 - 10:25 AM

Looks solid, and btw Wolly you're so skinny!  :laugh:



#378 fba

fba

    Member

  • Honorary Closed Tester
  • PipPip
  • 117 posts
  • LocationUtah, USA
  • Devices:VidOn Box, AV200
  • VidOn XBMC:Old Version
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:Nexus 5, others
  • Android Pad:Galaxy Tab II, others

Posted 26 September 2014 - 03:43 PM

Wolly -   Wikipedia seems to indicate that the hardware supports 4K.   (Yes, I know Wikipedia isn't a great reference.)   Is the issue with 4K support just a matter of the accelerated codecs not supporting it?  Or was there a hardware design choice that was made that would prevent 4K?    

 

It would be great if it is just a software issue and the opportunity existed to do 4K output in the future.  It seems like it would be a good future-proofing feature.


- Video system : Sharp 80" 3D TV, Pioneer Elite VSX-70, Definitive Audio Speakers, 40+ TB (hardware RAID 5) Linux server for Blu-ray and DVD ISOs.

- Network : (2x) HP 3400cl switches, HP 1810-24G, Cisco ASA 5520 router/firewall, Aerohive wireless APs


#379 Wolly Xu

Wolly Xu

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 1792 posts

  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4

Posted 26 September 2014 - 04:07 PM

It's hard to say. We also believed that AV200 can play 4K video, but actually it can't. Maybe it's something related to the software. I will ask our engineers for the details.

 



#380 likethatbox

likethatbox

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 207 posts
  • LocationNiedersachsen, Germany

Posted 01 October 2014 - 08:25 AM

Wolly -   Wikipedia seems to indicate that the hardware supports 4K.   (Yes, I know Wikipedia isn't a great reference.)   Is the issue with 4K support just a matter of the accelerated codecs not supporting it?  Or was there a hardware design choice that was made that would prevent 4K?    

 

It would be great if it is just a software issue and the opportunity existed to do 4K output in the future.  It seems like it would be a good future-proofing feature.

The SOC itself may support 4K, but needs additional Hardware....so forget about that.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: VidOn Box

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users