Jump to content



Photo

Root Access to VidOn Box so I can create Samba share

Network Set-up

Best Answer SeeMoreDigital , 29 March 2015 - 08:23 PM

Please refer to the comment within this topic.

Cheers Go to the full post


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
11 replies to this topic

#1 cenky

cenky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 March 2015 - 08:03 PM

Hi,

How can i get root access to my vidon box?

#2 SeeMoreDigital

SeeMoreDigital

    A/V Encoding Guru and Forum Moderator

  • Honorary Closed Tester
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 919 posts
  • LocationNotts, UK
  • Devices:See Signature

Posted 29 March 2015 - 08:23 PM   Best Answer

Please refer to the comment within this topic.

Cheers

I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout and A/V Gear | Please post in-accordance with the Forum Rules

I SUPPORT 'FAIR USE'. MY MORALS PREVENT ME FROM HELPING ANYONE WHO OBTAINS COPYRIGHTED CONTENT ILLEGITIMATELY

DEVICE: VidOn Box · SDK 1.4 · VidOn XBMC 1.0.0.0 (Gotham) and VidOn XBMC 15.2.2 (Kodi/Helix) · VMC (VidOn Media Center) 0.0.1.9 (Gotham)

EVERYONE PLEASE NOTE: ALTHOUGH I'M A FORUM MODERATOR, I'M NOT A 'VidOn.me' EMPLOYEE. AND AS SUCH, MY COMMENTS AND OPINIONS ARE MY OWN!


#3 cenky

cenky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 March 2015 - 08:32 PM

I want to use samba server apps to access my usb harddis connected to vidon box. But samba server apps need root. Isnt there any way?



#4 daflyboys

daflyboys

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 42 posts
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 2.0.0.0
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.6
  • SDK:v 1.2

Posted 29 March 2015 - 08:34 PM

Seems like it's asked and answered.



#5 cenky

cenky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 29 March 2015 - 09:09 PM

Hi,
I have just bought a Vidon Box. I thought that i could share my usb hdd which atached to Vidon Box on network by using samba server apps. But these apps need root and i dont know if it is possible or how i can do it.
So is there a way for file sharing on Vidon Box?

 MODERATOR NOTE:
As you can see this new topic that you have created has been merged into your existing topic about the same subject! Please do not create multiple topics about the same subject?  

#6 GregiBoy

GregiBoy

    The Wizard of Oz

  • Honorary Closed Tester
  • PipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Australia
  • Devices:VidOn Box, AV200
  • Devices:RT1186 Linux
  • VidOn XBMC:v 0.0.0.6
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.7
  • SDK:v 1.3
  • Android Phone:Medion AP4
  • Android Pad:Medion Lifetab

Posted 30 March 2015 - 12:20 AM

Why don't you attach the USB HDD to your PC, share it, and then access it from the VidOn box?



#7 cenky

cenky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 March 2015 - 12:48 AM

It's not a magic solution. I want to use vidon box as a torrent download machine and as a nas server that can work with low-energy. Of course a computer can do these, but a computer can also play media. I dont want my computer to be on every time. But i want to reach my usb hdd that plugged to Vidon from my other computers whenever i want. When i decided to buy Vidon, i thought i could use it as a samba server like any android device can do. 



#8 GregiBoy

GregiBoy

    The Wizard of Oz

  • Honorary Closed Tester
  • PipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Australia
  • Devices:VidOn Box, AV200
  • Devices:RT1186 Linux
  • VidOn XBMC:v 0.0.0.6
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.7
  • SDK:v 1.3
  • Android Phone:Medion AP4
  • Android Pad:Medion Lifetab

Posted 30 March 2015 - 01:43 AM

I dispute your "any android device can do" statement.

 

I currently have 7 android devices and not one can run Samba. 4 of those devices are media players, 3 are not VidOn!

 

You are expecting too much from a $70 bit of kit.

 

If you really want to do what you say, buy a decent NAS as most will do what you want.



#9 cenky

cenky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 March 2015 - 03:34 AM

Any android device rooted can do this. My old and poor android phone can even do it. NAS Serving isnt "too" much thing.

I dont need an advice about buying. I asked about a technical issue, you are talking about other stuff like "use your own computer", "buy a NAS Server". 

Isnt there a stuff of the vidon company here?



#10 GregiBoy

GregiBoy

    The Wizard of Oz

  • Honorary Closed Tester
  • PipPipPip
  • 433 posts
  • LocationBrisbane, Australia
  • Devices:VidOn Box, AV200
  • Devices:RT1186 Linux
  • VidOn XBMC:v 0.0.0.6
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.7
  • SDK:v 1.3
  • Android Phone:Medion AP4
  • Android Pad:Medion Lifetab

Posted 30 March 2015 - 06:45 AM

Your technical issue has been answered twice.

 

Perhaps no one wants to help you because of your attitude.



#11 Wolly Xu

Wolly Xu

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 1792 posts

  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4

Posted 30 March 2015 - 06:52 AM

Hey Cenky

VidOn Box now still cannot be rooted, sorry about that.

We are working with Allwinner on the matter of root, but still no result.

So it seems the Samba Server won't work as it needs a root access.



#12 cenky

cenky

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 March 2015 - 07:49 AM

Thanks for your answer. It's good to hear you are working on it, i hope you can find a solution. 
And i found a temp solution i think: http://techforpassio...-over-wifi.html





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Network Set-up

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users