Jump to content



Photo

Help, my Synology NAS can't access my NFS shares

Network Set-up

Best Answer Shdwkeeper , 27 April 2015 - 02:08 AM

Shdwkeeper, 

 

Was Wolly's suggestion helpful, are you able to access your NAS server?

Sorry for the delayed response, after changing some settings on the shared folder in the NFS Rule properties of the Synology it worked fine.  Here is what I have setup.  The Squash setting was the key.

 

Hostname or IP: *

Privilege: Read/Write

Squash: Map all users to admin

Security: sys

Go to the full post


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
12 replies to this topic

#1 Shdwkeeper

Shdwkeeper

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 1.0.0.0
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.7
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:Note 4

Posted 18 March 2015 - 07:22 AM

I can't get NFS to work. I have all of my files on my Synology Diskstation and it won't allow me to browse into the subfolders where my Video files are. My other XBMC box (non-VidOn) works perfectly fine browsing (NFS) to the subfolders where the video files are. I can ge to the NFS share but no deeper to where the video files are. SMB works fine but slow.

 MODERATOR NOTE:
As you can see your post (complete with replies) has been moved out of the 'Accessing Mac OS X Server 10.9 via NFS does not work' topic and into its own topic... 



#2 Joe

Joe

    Advanced Member

  • VidOn.me Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • LocationBeijing
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 0.0.0.4 Beta
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.6
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:TY K-Touch E88
  • Android Pad:Kindle Fire 1

Posted 18 March 2015 - 07:32 AM

Hey Shdwkeeper, 

 

What versions of the SDK, VMC and XBMC are you running on your VidOn Box? How is your Synology Diskstation connected to your VidOn Box? How is your VidOn Box connected to your TV?

 

Could you replicate this problem and then send us a log file?

 

Thanks,

 

Joe



#3 Shdwkeeper

Shdwkeeper

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 1.0.0.0
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.7
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:Note 4

Posted 18 March 2015 - 07:43 AM

Hey Shdwkeeper, 

 

What versions of the SDK, VMC and XBMC are you running on your VidOn Box? How is your Synology Diskstation connected to your VidOn Box? How is your VidOn Box connected to your TV?

 

Could you replicate this problem and then send us a log file?

 

Thanks,

 

Joe

I just got the box today and upgraded everything to the latest and greatest.  Both the Synology and the Vidon box are hardware to a switch that goes through a router, the VidOn is HDMI connected to TV.  I have another computer mini computer I built running OpenElec and its runing NFS just fine to Synology.  I tried to have the same exact NFS settings for this and it just won't get past the NFS mount.  Not sure about the log file as there isn't an error, it just won't let me click and dive deeper.



#4 Joe

Joe

    Advanced Member

  • VidOn.me Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • LocationBeijing
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 0.0.0.4 Beta
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.6
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:TY K-Touch E88
  • Android Pad:Kindle Fire 1

Posted 18 March 2015 - 08:36 AM

There may be something in the log to indicate what the problem is. We don't have a lot of experience with this particular problem as you and thmweb are the only users to ever report it, so we need as much information as possible.



#5 Shdwkeeper

Shdwkeeper

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 1.0.0.0
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.7
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:Note 4

Posted 18 March 2015 - 08:38 AM

Ok, how do I grab a log file?  thmweb is on a Mac and I'm trying to connect to a Synology Diskstation (linux based).



#6 Joe

Joe

    Advanced Member

  • VidOn.me Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • LocationBeijing
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 0.0.0.4 Beta
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.6
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:TY K-Touch E88
  • Android Pad:Kindle Fire 1

Posted 18 March 2015 - 08:46 AM

First replicate the problem, then in VidOn XBMC navigate to System > VidOn > Debuggung and select "Send a log file and dump file now".

 

And sorry, the Linux part slipped my mind because of the initial post being a Mac problem.

 

So send the logs and I will let the developers know to check it out.



#7 Wolly Xu

Wolly Xu

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 1792 posts

  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4

Posted 18 March 2015 - 09:06 AM

Hey, Shdwkeeper

 

Please read this --> http://kodi.wiki/view/NFS

You may need to do some settings on the server, because the PC, Android Box and MacOS use the different protocols to make the NFS work.


  • Joe likes this

#8 Shdwkeeper

Shdwkeeper

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 1.0.0.0
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.7
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:Note 4

Posted 18 March 2015 - 03:20 PM

Hey, Shdwkeeper

Please read this --> http://kodi.wiki/view/NFS
You may need to do some settings on the server, because the PC, Android Box and MacOS use the different protocols to make the NFS work.

Wolly,

I can connect with my Openelec XBMC box just fine with NFS and the Synology. It's probably doing something different.

I just found this thread that I will try tonight that looks like a fix for this situation: http://forum.kodi.tv...7790#pid1767790

Also, maybe you guys can move my few posts to a new thread with the topic: Accessing a Synology Diskstation via NFS does not work.

#9 Wolly Xu

Wolly Xu

    Administrator

  • Administrators
  • 1792 posts

  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 15.2.2, v 14.2.1
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.9
  • SDK:v 1.4

Posted 18 March 2015 - 05:10 PM

Hey Shdwkeeper

Hope you can solve this problem asap.

Different devices have different settings to make NFS work.



#10 Joe

Joe

    Advanced Member

  • VidOn.me Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • LocationBeijing
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 0.0.0.4 Beta
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.6
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:TY K-Touch E88
  • Android Pad:Kindle Fire 1

Posted 25 March 2015 - 03:52 AM

Shdwkeeper, 

 

Was Wolly's suggestion helpful, are you able to access your NAS server?



#11 Joe

Joe

    Advanced Member

  • VidOn.me Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • LocationBeijing
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 0.0.0.4 Beta
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.6
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:TY K-Touch E88
  • Android Pad:Kindle Fire 1

Posted 30 March 2015 - 03:15 AM

Hey shdwkeeper,

 

Did you have any luck at the Kodi Wiki?



#12 Shdwkeeper

Shdwkeeper

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 1.0.0.0
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.7
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:Note 4

Posted 27 April 2015 - 02:08 AM   Best Answer

Shdwkeeper, 

 

Was Wolly's suggestion helpful, are you able to access your NAS server?

Sorry for the delayed response, after changing some settings on the shared folder in the NFS Rule properties of the Synology it worked fine.  Here is what I have setup.  The Squash setting was the key.

 

Hostname or IP: *

Privilege: Read/Write

Squash: Map all users to admin

Security: sys


  • Joe likes this

#13 Joe

Joe

    Advanced Member

  • VidOn.me Staff
  • PipPipPip
  • 549 posts
  • LocationBeijing
  • Devices:VidOn Box
  • VidOn XBMC:v 0.0.0.4 Beta
  • VMC:v 0.0.1.6
  • SDK:v 1.2
  • Android Phone:TY K-Touch E88
  • Android Pad:Kindle Fire 1

Posted 27 April 2015 - 02:36 AM

OK great to hear! So where was it that you found this information, on the Kodi wiki? We would like to know in case someone else runs into this problem. Thanks shdwkeeper.

 

 







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Network Set-up

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users